Thankful and Nothing But

I could sit here and name off everyone I’m close to and I’ve something to thank them for, I really could. Believe me when I tell you, as I sit here and write this, I’m tempted to do exactly that but I’m so afraid to leave someone out that it’s probably not the best idea.

When I dreamed of writing about sports, I dreamed of being the guy who sat up in the press box. The guy everyone knew, would ask questions of, and the guy they would stop when I was walking around somewhere and say, “hey you’re that guy.”

We all dreamed of being famous when we were growing up, or at least some of us did.

But as I started this journey I began to realize that isn’t who I wanted to be. Ever. I didn’t want to change who I was because I was the man my wife married. I was the man who was so incredibly, head over heels, in love with her and I wanted her to be the center of my world.

I could never, ever, begin to say what I feel about her because she has done nothing but support me in what has been a long, and sometimes frustrating, journey with a lot of late nights or having to be somewhere on a weekend. She smiles, tells me she loves me, and gives me encouragement that gives me the strength I need.

I’ve already written about my passion for sports fading away and realizing that it was never as important as I thought it was. I had a conversation with a good friend of mine at work today and I told him, “if I get to serve in a marriage ministry, right next to my wife, for the rest of my life and never write about sports again, there won’t be anyone happier than me.” I meant that. I had to stop for a second after saying that and I heard this little voice in my head say, “you really meant that.”

Watching marriages, some on the verge of breaking apart, strengthen and take on a concrete bond in just two in a half days is nothing short of miraculous. Getting to do that with my wife is indescribable.

But there is someone else who has had a profound impact on this journey. She took a chance on me when I first started out and saw something in me that I didn’t see in myself. While I won’t mention her name, I will make sure that she sees this because, to this day, she still encourages me. And, at times, will make sure I know she’s still watching just in case there are those moments where I step out of line. I know better, because she taught me better.

She is a sports writer herself, well known in the college football circles. She taught me not only how to write but also how to believe what I’m writing. There are times I let go of those ideals and get away from the things that were originally installed.

We learn the greatest lessons from some of the most amazing people. While I make sure to thank her for taking an extraordinary amount of time and effort with me, she makes sure to tell me that I’ve continued the journey on my own.

I don’t want her to think for a second that I’m putting aside every lesson she’s ever taught me over the last five years. Just to know that it’s taken a different path.

I’m thankful for the lessons I’ve learned and for the friends who I am so honored to be around every moment I get the chance. I’d like to think I make somewhat of an impact on them, but not nearly the kind of impact they make on me.

I wasn’t built, I was created.

Be humble, keep that humility, don’t ever lose sight of who you are, be proud of it and always speak from the heart.

I’m thankful to my wife for never changing and being one of the strongest people I’ve ever met. And I’m thankful to that one person who continues to be a writing mentor.

Thankful…and nothing but thankful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Friends

Leave a comment